Leftover Chicken Pasta

To kick off my first recipe post, let’s start with something I know I always have lots of leftovers of…chicken! And I don’t know about you but eating leftover chicken is not my favorite so I always like to re-purpose it into something else to give it a new life.

Here is a really simple recipe for a pasta made with some leftover chicken. I make this when I have leftover chicken breast but you can adapt to whatever kind of chicken you have leftover as long as it isn’t too strongly seasoned already.

Enjoy!

Leftover Chicken Pasta

Ingredients:

  • Leftover chicken
  • Olive oil
  • Onion
  • Garlic
  • Frozen Peas
  • Chicken Broth
  • Pasta (of your choosing)
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Cut chicken into pieces
  2. Add about a teaspoon of olive oil to a pan and heat up on medium high heat
  3. Add onions and garlic and sautée until fragrant and onions are a bit soft
  4. Add frozen peas to the pan and cook until unfrozen and bright green
  5. Add a bit of chicken broth so it’s saucy but not soupy, use your judgement
  6. Let this cook for a few minutes so it thins out a little bit
  7. Put over pasta with some grated parmesan cheese (optional) and enjoy!

A note on my “recipes”
Sharing my ideas for what to do with leftovers is easy but explaining the actual recipe is a bit harder. What I mean is that I cannot give exact amounts to add because the leftover amount will always be a little different for everyone. So most of these recipes require an ‘eyeballing’ of amounts. This is also how I cook–I do not usually measure anything. What I make rarely requires exact amounts of ingredients. That is why I don’t bake often!

One thought on “Leftover Chicken Pasta

Leave a Reply

