Leftover Sausage Pasta

I’ve been so busy prepping my garden for summer that I haven’t had too much time to post. I’m excited, though, to post all kinds of recipes using my fresh garden veggies soon! In the meantime it has been a bit cold and rainy up in NJ lately and has only just started to feel like summer this past week. So here is a recipe I made last week that came out really delicious. I had some leftover sausage from a BBQ and made it into this. Enjoy!

Leftover Sausage Pasta

Ingredients:

  • Leftover sausage, cut into small pieces
  • Pasta (I prefer cavatelli with this but whatever you have will work fine)
  • Chopped spinach or broccoli (can use fresh or frozen)
  • Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Grated parmesan cheese
  • Tomato sauce
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)

Instructions:

  1. Make sure to cut the sausage into small pieces
  2. Heat up olive oil in a frying pan and when hot add the sausage and the tomato sauce. Cook for a few minutes so the flavors can blend.
  3. Once sausage and tomato sauce has cooked for a few minutes, add in the spinach or broccoli and the pasta and mix together.
  4. Add mozzarella and parmesan on top and place the lid on the pan.
  5. Reduce heat to low and let cook for about 15 minutes.

 

A note on my “recipes”
Sharing my ideas for what to do with leftovers is easy but explaining the actual recipe is a bit harder. What I mean is that I cannot give exact amounts to add because the leftover amount will always be a little different for everyone. So most of these recipes require an ‘eyeballing’ of amounts. This is also how I cook–I do not usually measure anything. What I make rarely requires exact amounts of ingredients. That is why I don’t bake often!

 

Leave a Reply

